Book Reviews and Comments

The Ears that have Eyes

5.0 Star Review from Amazon

Love this writer
By Joyce A. on August 10, 2016
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
Love this writer! Refreshing vibe and words just pop out at you and the story sucks you in. Characters are very relatable and definitely a page turner. I cannot wait to see what else this writer has in store for us.


5.0 Star Review from Amazon

I couldn’t put this book down!
By Karen Brunke on August 17, 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
I couldn’t put this book down! I was lured into the story immediately. Cheryl Charlesworth does a fantastic job portraying a young woman, her friends, and the journey they all take to find real meaning and love in their lives. Each character is developed very realistically and I could really relate with these ladies in many ways. The focus of the story is on Stephanie who must overcome the burden of past abandonment and abuse to truly understand how to open herself up to love, vulnerability, and forgiveness. It’s a struggle and she and her friends aren’t perfect people.

I believe there are lot of people who could relate to this story because we all have our pasts with baggage and this is a story of discovery and acceptance, something we can all benefit from as we go forward practicing life in all our unique ways. A very good read!


5 Star Review from Amazon

Let this story draw you in….you’ll soon be hooked
By Davia Larson on October 25, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This debut novel explores the turmoil of love and friendship through the life of Stephanie, a character haunted by her past and desperate to become whole. On the surface, she and her girlfriends may have it all—success, looks, and wealth—but beneath the glamour, each of them face immense challenges. The narrative mirrors what many of us find to be true—that the process of growth is taxing, full of both failure and success, trial and error. The book deftly weaves a plot that examines not only the role of passion, hatred, courage, and anger, but also explores what few novels discuss—the role that indifference and antipathy can play in relationships.

With page-turning action the story reveals the complexity of each character’s life and how personal decisions alter the dynamic between four women who have vowed to remain friends come what may. In the end, Stephanie has to come to terms with herself, startling truths about her past and future, and in the process accept that her quest may lead to an ending very different from what she has always imagined.

Spend some time with these characters—you won’t regret engaging with their lives as the novel draws you into an immensely satisfying story.


What I liked most about the story is that the lead character …
on June 13, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
What I liked most about the story is that the lead character was finally willing to let go of old outworn versions of herself and her life to welcome in love and humility. She knew, in her heart, that there was more to life than what she had been exposed to on the surface. She learned that sometimes the process involves being vulnerable and involves loss but even this can be rewarding at times!

5 Star Review from Amazon

Expect the Unexpected
on June 6, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
This extraordinary story is about betrayal, intended and unintended… Forgiveness and lack thereof… But mostly it is a story of family relations, friendships, relationships… More than ‘Waiting to Exhale’! Sexy, engaging, and The Ears That Have Eyes is exactly what you would want to read as your eyes and ears bear witness to the lives of these characters.

5 Star Review from Amazon

 on June 3, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
An excellent read !!!

5 Star Review from Amazon

Debut Novel Shines
By Fellow Traveler on May 30, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
 The Ears That Have Eyes was my first exposure to this author, but I hope, not my last. When I came across the first section of her book on her webpage, it really floored me. The writing was beautiful and multifaceted. I was surprised by the direction the novel went, but surprises are good, not to mention rare. I will be watching for more of Charlesworth’s work.

5 Star Review from Amazon

A fast-paced, impressive page turner! The storyline as …
By Anastasia on May 26, 2015
This review is from: The Ears That Have Eyes (Paperback)
A fast-paced, impressive page turner! The storyline as a whole flows well, and accurately reflects the lives of its fictional characters. Perhaps you may find some bits and pieces in common with characters in the book, and begin to ponder their own story!


4 Star Review from Barnes & Noble

“The Ears that have Eyes” is by debut novelist C.L. Charlesworth
Calvin-Site of Contact | Posted May 26, 2015
“The Ears that have Eyes” is by debut novelist C.L. Charlesworth. She writes what she seems to know and that is women relationship with other women and their relationship to their male lovers. The book is like a roller coaster ride, the long steep climb of the coaster cars before you start the descent into the book. In the first 5 chapters, I felt sorry for but bored with the character who came off as shallow, tragic, and alone. Chasing after the promise of a beautiful life that money supposedly buys. Trying to get rich and famous through bad behavior and men. This social satire is biting, yet relevant to today reality television and the application of misplaced values.

The book picks up momentum as the Protagonist decides to get a hold on her life by finding counseling which allows the Protagonist life story to unfold and the archetypal search for source (her Mother) to begin.

Charlesworth’s primary story location was Los Angeles, in the period I guess between 1980 – 1990’s. It tells the story of seeking security and value in things at the expense of family and friends. How one can seem cursed when erroneous attitudes are carried over from one generation to the next. How secrets ensue and it’s safe to say that everybody connected to Stephanie our Protagonist will be stripped of their folly or have some type of retribution that must be paid. I liked the plot twist of the characters appearing not precisely as whom they seem to be, which moves the story line along.


5 Star Review from Amazon

TAKE THIS TO THE BEACH, ON A PLANE, …
By Donna L. Pizzi on May 21, 2015
Format: Paperback
TAKE THIS TO THE BEACH, ON A PLANE, TO A COMFY CHAIR… “The Ears that have Eyes” by C.L. Charlesworth is a fast-paced, page-turner of the “50 Shades of Grey” or Joan Collins potboiler variety. Once you’ve gotten on this train ride, you won’t be able to put it down. Impressive debut novel that promises more to come from a woman with non-stop ideas. Bravissima!


5 Star Review from Amazon

Mini-me
By Bonnie Cehovet VINE VOICE on May 17, 2015
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
“I learned from my mother, who was once one of the highest paid fashion models, that great beauty opened doors. She never left home without impeccable attire, full makeup, and photo-ready hair. She said a woman’s sexuality was better than an American Express card, and if used right, the rewards were much better. Mother said her money was for pleasure and not for rent, food, or life’s other necessities. She had men-lots of men-whose generous wallets and bank accounts gladly emptied into her hands.” Excerpt from Chapter OneThis, in a nutshell, describes Stephanie Moore, the main character in C.L. Charlesworth’s “The Ears That Have Eyes”. Abandoned by her mother at the age of ten, abused in a foster home, then adopted by a couple bent on replacing their deceased daughter, Stephanie was on her own (by choice) from the age of eighteen. Her mother had tutored her well – she was a mini-me who knew how to use men to her advantage.Stephanie and her friends Rachael (partner in a law firm), Tara (a high powered real estate broker), and Jennifer (with her doctorate in English Literature ) meet monthly to share food, drinks, and stories. They live in LA, and all share a luxury lifestyle – the right cloths, the right addresses, the right parties, the right men. Each is running from her own shadows, each is walking her own path to finding herself, and creating her own life.

This is a work of literary fiction, worthy of Peyton Place status. Is a fake life worth it? Do material things make a life? Are any of these ladies going to survive their own perception of themselves and life? Is there hope, or is there only fate?

Each character has a story that is individual, and well developed. The storyline as a whole flows well, and accurately reflects the lives of its fictional characters. Perhaps readers will see bits and pieces of themselves here, and begin to ponder their own story.

This is the first book that I have read from this author … I certainly intend to keep her in my radar!


4 Star Review from Amazon

Don’t let the title miss lead [sic] you.
By Janice M. Gilder on May 17, 2015
Format: Paperback
This book had me for the first paragraph. LA woman living in the fast lane trying to get her life together and solve the mystery of her past.

My sister you are well versed with the imagination. I love the excerpt from the book “The Ears That Have Eyes”. GOD bless you on your endeavors and may the doors of prosperity open that you never would imagine. –Theodore


Cheryl: I’ve just finished reading your book in two sittings! I left a comment on your website when I’d read about 150 pages a few days ago. You have written a VERY COMMERCIAL book. I’m surprised that you haven’t found representation for it. I hope it will bring you the success you deserve. It’s a real page turner. Lots of sex (Kay says she asked if you were putting that in and hoped you were), and a million twists and turns (ala soap opera world).

Of course, I have a great soft spot in my heart for “Family Band,” and I’m surprised that it does not appear in your list of stories on your website. It’s a complex novel that shows your depth as a writer, and the African American experience, yours and countless others. I hope you will resuscitate it and add it to your list.

I am awed by the leaps you’ve made as a writer, and delighted that I could assist you along the way… You are “out of the closet” with this work… NOW FLOG IT!!!

BRAVISSIMA!!! –Donna Pizzi


 

Share This!